About Union

Located in northern-central Union County, Union has a resident population of approximately 56,000. The township is bordered by the Union County municipalities of Elizabeth, Hillside, Kenilworth, Roselle Park, and Springfield, and the Essex County communities of Irvington, Maplewood and Millburn. The community is considered by NJ.Com as the fourth most diverse town in New Jersey (https://www.nj.com/data/2022/07/nj-is-increasing-diversity-see-how-your-town-stacks-up-in-this-map.html); click here to download the article.

The school system currently operates 10 schools- six kindergarten through Grade Four elementary schools, one elementary school that houses all of the district's Grade Five students, two middle schools (Grades 6-8), and one comprehensive high school. 
The district employs approximately 1200 individuals and serves roughly 7,200 students.


Mission Statement

The mission of the Township of Union Public Schools is to build on the foundations of honesty, excellence, integrity, strong family, and community partnerships. We promote a supportive learning environment where every student is challenged, inspired, empowered, and respected as diverse learners. Through cultivation of students' intellectual curiosity, skills and knowledge, our students can achieve academically and socially, and contribute as responsible and productive citizens of our global community.


Philosophy Statement

The Township of Union Public School District, as a societal agency, reflects democratic ideals and concepts through its educational practices. It is the belief of the Board of Education that a primary function of the Township of Union Public School System is to formulate a learning climate conducive to the needs of all students in general, providing therein for individual differences. The school operates as a partner with the home and community.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.